
Legal Papers – Richard Goodwin of Donington- Miller and Baker
…to the West, and 2 pieces of land in Kirton abutting on the Union Weir Drain to the West Also includes a 12 acre Close of land in Swineshead in…
…to the West, and 2 pieces of land in Kirton abutting on the Union Weir Drain to the West Also includes a 12 acre Close of land in Swineshead in…
Looks like a picture taken in the winter with no leaves on the trees and showing what is now Ayscoughfee Hall School, but previously the girls high school. …
…in High Street, Spalding, when we will be inviting everyone to come along and have a go at blacksmithing to create a metal chain link in the blacksmith’s forge. Each…
This type engine was used in the Black Granary which once resided in the High St in Spalding. AOS P 0199 Oil Engines for Crude Oil Ruston and Hornsby…
…a guest that a drink was safe, it became customary for a guest to pour a small amount of his drink into the glass of the host. Both men would…
…plateau, from which rises in impressive grandeur the great monolith of Portland stone, weighing about eight tons. The stone is four feet eight inches high, resting on a large bed…
3D Model of St Mary and the Holy Rood Donington created using Photogrammetry Click here to view the 3D model Click on the button above to show the 3D model….
…possession of the married daughter of the last landlord. In harvest time, several smallholders stacked their corn in the large yard of the inn. The small stacks were threshed by…
…month, he started work for Proctor Bros. (Gosberton) Ltd, Gosberton, near Spalding. He began by working horses in the fields for three years and then progressed to driving a John…
In this coach is Theophilus Maurice Stephen Johnson ( 1826-1892 ) outside Ottway House, Pinchbeck. He lived at Holland House, High Street, Spalding. Click on image to enlarge …
…assets). He is however credited with making significant improvements to the Parish Church of St Mary, being largely responsible for its construction and a stained glass window looking out over…
…and west walls to within eight feet of the east end. This bench helped in the structure of the walls as it was firmly fixed to them and to the…
Dr Hunters House Dr. Hunter’s house being demolished (High Street., Holbeach – now occupied by the library & Co-op pharmacy)…
…at the first Post Instructors courses throughout the Group. He was a very popular figure amongst his southern posts before ill health compelled his resignation during the early part of…
…its simple panels betray a more exotic past in scraps of colour still adhering to the stone despite determined efforts of reformers to scrape away every vestige of decoration. Above…
…to protect the ground from floods. During the Dark Ages this reclamation stopped, but at the start of the 17th century, following economic recovery, the draining continued. This included both…
…to the port of Spalding. It was believed he was paid £5/year and 1 shilling for each time the bridge was open. Chain Bridge on the High St in Spalding…
This old photo is of Donington Grammar School, now Thomas Cowley High. The school was founded in 1719 by Thomas Cowley, a landowner who established the school to teach twenty…
…the barge called the Agriculture moored alongside the Black Barn or Granary. The barn no longer exists and was demolished to enable the widening of the High St in Spalding….