This was for the improvement of Spalding and Pinchbeck by the deepening and widening of the Blue Gowt drain. This was not successful because the height of water impeded the drainage at the Glen outfall.
An Act of 1832 appointed Trustees ‘for the better affecting the drainage of the lands of Spalding and Pinchbeck’, and to ‘make and build on the Blue Gowt one or more good and substantial engines to be worked by steam or otherwise’.
The engine replaced six wind-powered scoop wheel pumps that fell into disrepair and could only work if the wind was blowing.
About the Engine
At Pinchbeck Engine Museum you can learn more about the drainage of the Fens and explore the various areas, including the coal store, boiler room, scoop wheel and blacksmiths shop.
Explore the Museum
Drainage of the Fens
Latest News from Pinchbeck Engine
Letter from a Mr Watkins to Mr Seymour reference to machine Letter to Charles Seymour 1938 Letter to Charles Seymour 1938 (2)
West Marsh Road, Spalding, Lincs
Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Stay up to date with what’s happening at Heritage South Holland by signing up